State / Territory Benefits - Colorado

Tweet
Share

State Taxes
Education Benefits
Employment Benefits
Unemployment Compensation
Division of Driver Services
Health and Insurance Benefits
Parks and Recreation
Miscellaneous Benefits
Resource Locator
VA Medical Facilities
Resources

 

Summary: The State of Colorado offers special benefits for its military Service members and Veterans including Retired Military Pay and Property tax exemptions, state employment preferences, education and tuition assistance, vehicle tags, as well as hunting and fishing license privileges. Eligibility for some benefits may depend on residency, military component and Veteran disability status.

State Benefit Highlights and Eligibility

State Taxes:

State Tax Advantage: None

Learn more

Retired Military Pay: Colorado has a pension/annuity subtraction where, depending on the age of the recipient, the first $20,000/$24,000 is not taxed. Retirees of the Armed Forces 55-64 years old can exclude a total of $20,000 for Social Security and qualified retirement income. Those 65 and over can exclude up to $24,000.
Eligibility: U.S. Armed Forces Retiree.

Learn more

Military Disability Retired Pay: Retirees who entered the military before September 24, 1975, and members receiving disability retirements based on combat injuries or who could receive disability payments from the VA are covered by laws giving disability broad exemption from federal income tax. Most military retired pay based on service-related disabilities also is free from federal income tax, but there is no guarantee of total protection.

Learn more

VA Disability Dependency and Indemnity Compensation: Not subject to federal or state taxes.

Learn more

Military SBP/RCSBP/RSFPP: Generally subject to state taxes for those states with income tax. Check with state department of revenue office. For information on the Military Spouses Residency Relief Act, click here.

Learn more

Property Tax Deferral for Seniors/Active Military Personnel: The Property Tax Deferral Program helps military personnel and seniors, many of whom live on a fixed income, continue to afford living in their home by deferring the payment of their property taxes. The State Treasurer's office may make tax payments directly to the county on behalf of the participant for the tax amount due. The loan is logged as a lien against the participant's property that does not have to be remitted until the participant no longer qualifies to defer their property taxes. Click here for a list of outstanding loans by county.
Eligibility: The following criteria must be met:

  • Applicant must be a senior who is 65 years or older or a person called into military service pursuant to CRS 39-3.5-101 (1.8), on January 1 of the year in which the person files a claim.
  • All prior years' property taxes must be paid.
  • Applicant must own and occupy the property as their primary residence. The property cannot be income-producing.
  • The total value of liens against the property (mortgages, deferrals, and/or deeds of trust) cannot exceed 100% of the assessed market value.
  • Mortgage lender agrees that the state's interest in the property would take priority over all other interests.
  • If a qualified applicant has a reverse mortgage, the property is only eligible for future deferrals if a subordination agreement from the mortgage lender is submitted with the application.
  • The deferral amount must be paid upon sale or transfer of the property. The deferral amount can also be paid any time prior to sale or transfer without affecting future eligibility.

Those who qualify must file an application with their representative county treasurer between January and April 1st of each year. Once approved, the treasurer will issue a certificate of deferral to the property owner, keeping one copy on record and sending one copy to the State Treasurer's office. By April 30, the Treasurer's office will pay the deferred amount to the County Treasurer where the property is located.

*Note: if property taxes are included in your mortgage payment, a copy of the deferral certificate to the mortgage lender for a refund of the property tax held in escrow must be presented.

Learn more

Senior & Disabled Veteran Property Tax Exemption: A property tax exemption is available to senior citizens, surviving Spouses of senior citizens, and disabled Veterans. For those who qualify, 50 percent of the first $200,000 in actual value of their primary residence is exempted. The state pays the exempted portion of the property tax. The Senior Property Tax Exemption is administered by the Department of Local Affairs; but the Treasurer's office is responsible for the distribution of state funds to counties representing the amount issued in exemptions.
Eligibility:

  • Applicant must be a disabled Veteran who has been rated by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs as permanently disabled. (VA unemployability awards do not meet the requirement for determining an applicant's eligibility.)
  • Applicant must have owned and occupied the property as their primary residence on January 1st of the year in which they are applying for the exemption. (If the Veteran's Spouse is an owner and the Veteran is not, the Veteran can still qualify if the couple was married on or before January 1 and both have occupied the property as their primary residence since January 1.)
  • Fifty percent of the first $200,000 in actual property value is exempt from property taxation

Disabled Veterans who qualify for the property tax exemption must submit an application to their county assessor between January 1st and July 1st of the year you qualify.

Learn more

Back to top

 

Education Benefits:

Colorado National Guard (CONG) Tuition Assistance: Any member of the Colorado National Guard whose sole residency is Colorado is eligible for State Tuition Assistance, up to 100% tuition paid (not to exceed $4250 or $475/credit hour) at any approved Colorado state-funded school depending on funding available. State funding can be used in conjunction with Federal Tuition Assistance. Deadline for Spring Semester is a December. Deadline for Fall Semester is 10 July. Summer deadline is 1 May.
Eligibility: The following criteria must be met:

  • As of July 1, 2000 any new member of the Colorado National Guard eligible for State Tuition Assistance must have a minimum of 6 months of service in the Colorado National Guard. Interstate Transfer (ISTs) and In-Service Recruits (ISRs) are waived from this requirement.
  • To get TA the member must be in drilling status with the Colorado National Guard. If the member leaves drilling status, during the semester/quarter for which they are receiving TA, the member must reimburse the Department for the whole amount of TA received for that semester.
  • Must maintain a 2.0 Grade Point Average

All Army guard members are to apply for federal tuition assistance in addition to the state tuition assistance.

*Note: There is no longer a repayment of service for state tuition assistance (2 years of service for every 1 year of tuition). However, National Guard Service members must satisfactorily meet all performance requirements and receive recommendation by their Unit Commander (verified via 169C Form), and must have an ETS date on or after the end date of the semester.

For more information including eligibility guidelines, please visit the following pages:

Learn more

Operation Recognition: Operation Recognition is a program to award High School diplomas to deserving and qualified WWII, Korea and Vietnam-era Veterans. Operation Recognition is authorized by Colorado State Law and is offered by the Colorado Board of Veterans Affairs in cooperation with the Colorado Department of Education and the Colorado Association of School Boards.
Eligibility: Upon request a diploma may be awarded to the honorably discharged Veteran or Veteran's Family member if requesting posthumously if he/she:

  • Served in the Armed forces: WWII, Korea, Vietnam
  • Left High School before graduating on order to serve in the U.S. Armed forces
  • Is at least 60 years of age
  • Has not received a high school diploma (may hold a GED)
  • At the time of making the request, resides within the school district or
  • At the time of leaving High School to serve in the U.S. armed forces, resided within the school district.

How to apply: Applicants must fill out the Operation Recognition Application and provide a copy of discharge paperwork reflecting an honorable discharge. Applications must be verified by a state Dept. of Veterans' Affairs representative, and turned in to the local County Board of Education.

Learn more

Resident Tuition Rates for Veterans and Families: Honorably-discharged members of the U.S. Armed Forces, and their Spouses and Children who permanently move to Colorado qualify for resident tuition rates immediately.
Eligibility: Transitioning military personnel or Veterans must establish or maintain domicile in the state of Colorado. Actions establishing domicile include (but are not limited to):

  • Obtaining a driver license and/or registering a vehicle
  • Registering to vote

Applicants to post-secondary institutions who intend to use the GI Bill for tuition purposes also qualify for the in-state tuition rate.

Learn more

Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military Children: It is the purpose of this compact to remove barriers to educational success imposed on Children of military Families because of frequent moves and deployment of their parents by:

  • Facilitating the timely enrollment of Children of military Families and ensuring that they are not placed at a disadvantage due to difficulty in the transfer of educational records from the previous school district or variations in entrance or age requirements.
  • Facilitating the student placement process through which Children of military Families are not disadvantaged by variations in attendance requirements, scheduling, sequencing, grading, course content or assessment. Facilitating the qualification and eligibility for enrollment, educational programs, and participation in extracurricular academic, athletic and social activities.
  • Facilitating the on-time graduation of Children of military Families.
  • Providing for the promulgation and enforcement of administrative rules implementing the provisions of this compact.
  • Providing for the uniform collection and sharing of information between and among member states, schools and military Families under this compact.
  • Promoting coordination between this compact and other compacts affecting military Children.
  • Promoting flexibility and cooperation between the educational system, parents and the student in order to achieve educational success for the student.

Primary Points of Contact:
Cheryl Serrano, Superintendent Fountain-Fort Carson School District #8
Address: 10665 Jimmy Camp Rd, Fountain, CO 80817
Email: cserrano@ffc8.org
Phone: 719-382-1311

Susan Silva
Address: 1575 Ellis St, Bldg #1217, Fort Carson, CO 80913
Email: susan.k.silva.naf@mail.mil
Phone: 719-524-0655 / 2457

Learn more

Back to top

 

Employment Benefits:

Employment Assistance: State employee receives 15 days of paid military leave per year.
Eligibility: Colorado National Guard and reserve member.

Learn more

Veterans Hiring Preferences (Federal): By Federal law, Veterans who are disabled or who served on active duty in the United States Armed Forces during certain specified time periods or in military campaigns are entitled to preference over non-Veterans both in hiring into the Federal civil service and in retention during reduction in force. Veterans may be entitled to 5 or 10 points included in any scoring process for examination or interviews.

5-point Hiring Preference: Five points are added to the examination score or rating of a Veteran who served:

  • During a war; or
  • During the period April 28, 1952 through July 1, 1955; or
  • For more than 180 consecutive days, other than for training, any part of which occurred after January 31, 1955, and before October 15, 1976; or
  • During the Gulf War from August 2, 1990, through January 2, 1992; or
  • For more than 180 consecutive days, other than for training, any part of which occurred during the period beginning September 11, 2001, and ending on August 31, 2010, the last day of Operation Iraqi Freedom; or
  • In a campaign or expedition for which a campaign medal has been authorized. Any Armed Forces Expeditionary medal or campaign badge, including El Salvador, Lebanon, Grenada, Panama, Southwest Asia, Somalia, and Haiti, qualifies for preference.

10-point Compensable Disability (CP) Preference: Ten points are added to the examination score or rating of:

  • A Veteran who served at any time and who has a compensable service-connected disability rating of at least 10 percent but less than 30 percent.

10-Point 30 Percent Compensable Disability Preference (CPS): Ten points are added to the passing examination score or rating of a Veteran who served at any time and who has a compensable service-connected disability rating of 30 percent or more.

10-Point Disability Preference (XP): Ten points are added to the passing examination score or rating of:

  • A Veteran who served at any time and has a present service-connected disability or is receiving compensation, disability retirement benefits, or pension from the military or the Department of Veterans Affairs but does not qualify as a CP or CPS; or
  • A Veteran who received a Purple Heart.

10-Point Derived Preference (XP): Ten points are added to the passing examination score or rating of Spouses, Widows, Widowers, or Mothers of Veterans as described below. This type of preference is usually referred to as "derived preference" because it is based on service of a Veteran who is not able to use the preference. Both a Mother and a Spouse (including Widow or Widower) may be entitled to preference on the basis of the same Veteran's service if they both meet the requirements. However, neither may receive preference if the Veteran is living and is qualified for Federal employment.

Ten points are added to the passing examination score or rating of the Spouse of a disabled Veteran who is disqualified for a Federal position along the general lines of his or her usual occupation because of a service-connected disability. Such a disqualification may be presumed when the Veteran is unemployed and

  • Is rated by appropriate military or Department of Veterans Affairs authorities to be 100 percent disabled and/or unemployable; or
  • Has retired, been separated, or resigned from a civil service position on the basis of a disability that is service-connected in origin; or
  • Has attempted to obtain a civil service position or other position along the lines of his or her usual occupation and has failed to qualify because of a service-connected disability.

Preference may be allowed in other circumstances but anything less than the above warrants a more careful analysis.

A campaign medal holder or Gulf War Veteran who originally enlisted after September 7, 1980, (or began active duty on or after October 14, 1982, and has not previously completed 24 months of continuous active duty) must have served continuously for 24 months or the full period called or ordered to active duty. The 24-month service requirement does not apply to 10-point preference eligible Veterans separated for disability incurred or aggravated in the line of duty, or to Veterans separated for hardship or other reasons under 10 U.S.C. 1171 or 1173.

Learn More

State Veterans' Employment Preference: Eligible Veterans are eligible to receive Veterans' preference for jobs in the State of Colorado.
Eligibility: Five-point preference is given to those honorably separated (this means an honorable or general discharge)

  • Who served on active duty (excluding active duty for training) in the Armed Forces:
    • During any war declared by Congress;
    • During the period April 28, 1952, through July 1, 1955;
    • For more than 180 consecutive days, any part of which occurred after January 31, 1955, and before October 15, 1976;
    • During the Gulf War period beginning August 2, 1990, and ending January 2, 1992;
    • For more than 180 consecutive days, any part of which occurred during the period beginning September 11, 2001, and ending on the date prescribed by Presidential proclamation or by law as the last day of Operation Iraqi Freedom; or,
    • In a campaign or expedition for which a campaign medal has been authorized, such as El Salvador, Lebanon, Granada, Panama, Southwest Asia, Somalia, and Haiti.
  • The Spouse of a Veteran unable to work because of a service-connected disability;
  • The Widow/Widower of a deceased Veteran who was or would have been entitled to Veterans' preference.

Ten preference points are awarded to those honorably separated Veterans who qualify as disabled Veterans because they have served on active duty in the Armed Forces at any time and have a present service-connected disability or are receiving compensation, disability retirement benefits, or pension from the military or the Veterans Administration.

Proof of eligibility must be provided before points are allowed. This consists of the following:

  • For Veterans, a DD214 reflecting dates of service, type of discharge, and, if appropriate, a campaign badge or service medal. If information regarding a campaign badge or service medal is necessary to award preference points and is not reflected on the DD214, other documents reflecting the grade or medal must be provided.
  • For disabled Veterans, a DD214 and proof of disability in the form of a letter from the Veterans Administration verifying that the Veteran is currently receiving monetary benefits or has a disability retirement.
  • For Spouses of Veterans unable to work due to a service-connected disability, a DD214, proof of the disability as outlined above, and a copy of the marriage license.
  • For Widows/Widowers of deceased Veterans, a DD214, a copy of the marriage license, a copy of the death certificate, and a signed statement from the Widow/Widower that she/he has not remarried.

Learn more

Back to top

 

Unemployment Compensation:

Unemployment Compensation: Unemployment Insurance (UI) is a program to pay benefits and help workers who have lost their job through no fault of their own. The UI Program helps to lessen the negative impact that unemployment has on the economy. This program is not paid for by employees; employers fund the UI Program. Unemployment Insurance provides temporary and partial wage replacement to workers who have become unemployed through no fault of their own. Unemployment payments are funded by employer-paid taxes.

Colorado law requires all persons 18 years and older to provide proof that they are lawfully present in the United States before receiving unemployment benefits. You must provide one of the following forms of identification (ID):

  • Valid Colorado driver's license or a valid Colorado ID card.
  • United States military ID card or a military dependent ID card.
  • United States Coast Guard Merchant Mariner card.
  • Native American tribal document.
  • Valid driver's license or ID card issued by another state or Canada.

Click here for the Unemployment Guide.

UI Benefits Inquiries: 303-318-9000 or 1-800-388-5515 (outside Denver-metro area)

Learn more

Career Assistance for Veterans: Colorado offers career assistance to all individuals who are eligible for Veterans' services. Each workforce center location across the state provides Veterans with priority of service for employment, training, and placement services. Each workforce center is staffed with a Local Veterans' Employment Representative (LVER) and/or Disabled Veteran Outreach Program (DVOP) specialist, who will assist eligible Veterans with career counseling, resume creation, and other related services.
Eligibility: Priority of Service is for individuals who served at least one day in the active military naval, or air service, and who was discharged or released under other than dishonorable conditions. Active service includes full-time Federal service, or service in the National Guard or a Reserve component.

Veterans are encouraged to contact their local workforce center; a map with links to addresses and phone numbers can be found here.

Learn more

Back to top

 

Division of Driver Services:

"Veteran" or Military Designation on Driver License: The word "Veteran" may be printed on the driver's license or ID card if the applicant is a Veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces. A military identifier may be added to a driver license or ID card for applicants who have served or are currently serving in the U.S. Armed Forces.
Eligibility: Applicants must present one of the following documents at a driver's license office to add an identifier:

  • Original DD214 indicating an honorable discharge (Veteran or Military identifier)
  • Valid military identification or Common Access Card (CAC) (Military identifier)

There is no additional fee to add the identifier; however, standard fees for renewal or issue of a duplicate license apply. Once the indicator has been added to the license or ID card, additional documentation is not required at renewal.

Learn more

License Extensions for Military Personnel: Colorado residents on active-duty military status are eligible for a three-year extension on their current driver license if they are stationed outside the state and unable to renew the license. The extension is free, but the request for extension must include a letter from the Service member's commanding officer for verification.
Eligibility: The department will need a written Request for Extension, signed by the Service member with an out-of-state address, along with a letter from the Service member's commanding officer verifying status. The request may be faxed to 303-205-5990, or mailed to:

Department of Revenue
Division of Motor Vehicles
Room 164-ROS
PO Box 173350
Denver, CO 80217-3350

Learn more

Colorado Driver License - Exemption: Active duty U.S. military personnel and their Spouses are exempt from obtaining a Colorado driver license when they have a valid driver license issued by another state. Military personnel on active duty in Colorado and who claim another state as their home state of residence may register their vehicle(s) in Colorado.

Learn more

Specific Ownership Tax - Exemption: Active duty military personnel must be the owner or co-owner of the vehicle and complete form DR 2667 in order to obtain exemption from paying the Specific Ownership Tax. The affidavit must be completed each year at time of renewal or with the application for registration of a newly purchased vehicle. These individuals are in Colorado because they are required to be here by their branch of service.

Learn more

National Guard Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person who is active or retired member of the Colorado National Guard. Applicants must submit a Form DR 2226 to certify Colorado National Guard status. For active members, each renewal will require an annual status certification. For retirees, no annual certification is required.

Issuance & Fees: One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates in addition to other taxes and fees. Plates may be obtained at local County Motor Vehicle offices.

Learn more

Pearl Harbor Survivor Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person who can demonstrate being a member of the U.S. Armed Services on 12/07/1941, stationed at Pearl Harbor during the hours of 7:55 a.m. to 9:45 a.m. (Hawaii time), has received an honorable discharge, and holds a current membership in the National Organization of Pearl Harbor Survivors. Applicants must provide a copy of the indicated documentation and a completed Form DR 2130. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1) (b) (II) (F). A second or additional set requires a one-time fee of $50.00 for issuance in addition to other taxes and fees. The first exempt set is issued by the State Registration Section:

In Person: By mail:
Division of Motor Vehicles Department of Revenue
Department of Revenue Title and Registration Sections
1881 Pierce St PO Box 173350
Lakewood, CO 80214-3503 Denver, CO 80217-3350

Second and additional sets may be obtained at local County Motor Vehicle Offices.

Learn more

Prisoner of War Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person who was on active duty with the U.S. Armed Forced during a period of armed conflict while incarcerated by an enemy of the U.S. Applicants must complete a Form DR 2502.For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1) (b) (II) (A). A second or additional set requires a one-time fee of $50.00 for issuance in addition to other taxes and fees. There is no limit on the number of plates that may be issued. The first exempt set is issued by the State Registration Section:

In Person: By mail:
Division of Motor Vehicles Department of Revenue
Department of Revenue Title and Registration Sections
1881 Pierce St PO Box 173350
Lakewood, CO 80214-3503 Denver, CO 80217-3350

Second and additional sets may be obtained at local County Motor Vehicle Offices.

Learn more

Purple Heart Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person awarded the Purple Heart medal. The applicant must submit a copy of DD Form 214 or military orders awarding the Purple Heart, along with Form DR 2223. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-324(1) (b) (II) (D). A second or additional set requires a one-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates in addition to other taxes and fees. There is no limit on the number of plates that may be issued. The first exempt set is issued by the State Registration Section:

In Person: By mail:
Division of Motor Vehicles Department of Revenue
Department of Revenue Title and Registration Sections
1881 Pierce St PO Box 173350
Lakewood, CO 80214-3503 Denver, CO 80217-3350
Second and additional sets may be obtained at local County Motor Vehicle Offices.

Learn more

World War II Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: A Service member who served in the armed forces between September 16, 1940 and July 25, 1947. Applicants must complete the Fallen Service Member & World War II License Plate Application (Form DR 2432), along with discharge or separation paperwork indicating service during the time frame indicated. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213 (1)(b)(II)(H) and CRS 42-3-312. Second or additional sets require a onetime fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. Upon authorization, plates will be mailed to the County of residence for the qualified Veteran.

Learn more

Korean War Veteran Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person who can demonstrate being a member of the U.S. Armed Forces between 6/27/1950 and 1/31/1955. Applicants must bring a copy of their DD214 or discharge paperwork which indicates time served in the U.S. Armed Forces. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. There is no limit to the amount of plates that may be purchased. Plates may be obtained at any County Motor Vehicle Office.

Learn more

Vietnam Veteran Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person who can demonstrate being a member of the U.S. Armed Forced during the Vietnam engagement (08/07/1964-01/27/1973). Applicants must bring a copy of their DD214 or discharge paperwork which indicates time served in the U.S. Armed Forces. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates in addition to other taxes and fees. There is no limit to the amount of plates that may be purchased. Plates may be obtained at any County Motor Vehicle Office.

Learn more

Veteran of Operations Desert Shield/Desert Storm Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: The applicant must have been a member of the United States Armed Services between August 2, 1990 and February 28, 1991. Applicant shall provide a DD 214 form issued by the United States Government or other evidence sufficient to demonstrate that the applicant is a Veteran of the armed services who served between August 2, 1990, and February 28, 1991. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. There is no limit to the amount of plates that may be purchased. Plates may be obtained at any County Motor Vehicle Office.

Learn more

Veteran of Afghanistan War Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: An individual that is a natural person who was a member of the U.S. Armed Forces between October 7, 2001 and the end of the conflict. Applicants must bring a copy of their DD214 or discharge paperwork which indicates time served in the U.S. Armed Forces. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. There is no limit to the amount of plates that may be purchased. Plates may be obtained at any County Motor Vehicle Office.

Learn more

Veteran of Iraq War Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: An individual that is a natural person who was a member of the U.S. Armed Forces between March 20, 2003 and the end of the conflict. Applicants must bring a copy of their DD214 or discharge paperwork which indicates time served in the U.S. Armed Forces. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. There is no limit to the amount of plates that may be purchased. Plates may be obtained at any County Motor Vehicle Office.

Learn more

Medal of Honor Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person who can demonstrate being awarded the Medal of Honor. The applicant must fill out Form DR 2181 and provide discharge paperwork (DD214) or military orders indicating award. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1) (b) (II) (C). A second or additional set requires a one-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates in addition to other taxes and fees. Initial applications must be presented in person or by mail to the following addresses:

In Person: By Mail:
Division of Motor Vehicles Department of Revenue
Department of Revenue Title and Registration Sections
1881 Pierce St PO Box 173350
Lakewood, CO 80214-3503 Denver, CO 80217-3350

There is no limit to the number of plates that may be issued. Second and additional sets may be obtained at respective resident County Motor Vehicle Offices.

Learn more

Honorably Discharged Veteran Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person who can demonstrate being honorable discharged or retired from any branch of the U.S. Armed Services. The applicant must provide discharge paperwork (DD214) or other separation paperwork indicating an honorable discharge. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. There is no limit to the number of plates that may be issued. License plates may be obtained at respective resident County Motor Vehicle Offices.

Learn more

Fallen Soldier Plate (Army): Under Colorado Statute 42-3-213, the Fallen Service Member license plate may be issued to passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreational vehicles and motorcycles. The Fallen Service Member license plate will be certified for issuance by the State Registration Sections.
Eligibility: Fallen Service Member plates may be issued to the current or past Spouse, Child, Parent, grandparent, or sibling of a person who died in the line of duty while serving in the armed forces and deployed to a combat zone. The applicant must fill out Request for Fallen Service Member Plate Form (DR 2432) and provide supporting documentation (such as birth/death certificates, military records, etc.) to the State Registration section. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(G) and CRS 42-3-312 . A second or additional set requires a one-time fee of $50.00 for replacement of the license plate.

Learn more

4th Infantry Division Plate: Available for passenger cars or trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles and motor homes.
Eligibility: Any person that desires to show support for the U.S. Army 4th Division. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates in addition to other taxes and fees. There is no limit to the number of plates that may be issued. Plates are available at any County Motor Vehicle Office.

Learn more

10th Mountain Division Plate: Available for passenger cars or trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles and motor homes.
Eligibility: Any person who is a Veteran, a reserve member or active member of 10th Mountain Division of the U.S. Army. The applicant must provide discharge paperwork (DD214) or other separation paperwork indicating an honorable discharge or other evidence of being a Veteran, reserve member or active member of the 10th Mountain Division of the U.S. Army. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates in addition to other taxes and fees. There is no limit to the number of plates that may be issued. Plates are available at any County Motor Vehicle Office.

Learn more

U.S. Army Special Forces Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person who has received an honorable discharge or is retired, or is an active or reserve member of the U.S. Army awarded prefix "3" or suffix "S" or a designation of "5G", 18/180 MOS, Special Forces Tab, OSS or UNPIK-8240. Applicants must fill out Form DR 2382, and provide either a DD214 or other paperwork indicating service and honorable discharge. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates in addition to other taxes and fees. There is no limit to the number of plates that may be issued. Plates are available through any County Motor Vehicle Office.

Learn more

Silver Star Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person who can demonstrate being awarded the Silver Star. Applicants must provide discharge paperwork (DD214) or military orders indicating receipt of award, and Form DR 2181. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(E). A second or additional set requires a one-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. There is no limit to the number of plates that may be issued. Plates are available at any County Motor Vehicle Office.

Learn more

Bronze Star/Bronze Star of Valor Plates: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person who can demonstrate being awarded the Bronze Star or Bronze Star with 'V' Device. Applicants must provide discharge paperwork (DD214) or military orders indicating receipt of award, and Form DR 2690. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

Requires a one-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. There is no limit to the number of plates that may be issued. Plates are available at any County Motor Vehicle Office.

Learn more

Distinguished Service Cross: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person who can demonstrate being awarded the Distinguished Service Cross. Applicants must provide discharge paperwork (DD214) or military orders indicating receipt of award, and Form DR 2181. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(E). A second or additional set requires a one-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. There is no limit to the number of plates that may be issued. Plates are available at any County Motor Vehicle Office.

Learn more

Distinguished Flying Cross: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person who can demonstrate being awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross. Applicants must provide discharge paperwork (DD214) or military orders indicating receipt of award, and Form DR 2690. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1)(b)(II)(E). A second or additional set requires a one-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. Initial applications must be presented in person or by mail to the following addresses:

In Person: By Mail:
Division of Motor Vehicles Department of Revenue
Department of Revenue Title and Registration Sections
1881 Pierce St PO Box 173350
Lakewood, CO 80214-3503 Denver, CO 80217-3350

There is no limit to the number of plates that may be issued. Second and additional sets may be obtained at respective County Motor Vehicle Offices.

Learn more

Disabled Veteran Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person who can demonstrate being 50% or more Permanent Service-Connected Disabled with an Honorable discharge from a branch of the Armed Services of the United States. Applicants must print, follow all instructions and submit all information included on the Disabled Veteran Plate Checklist, utilizing the checklist as a cover sheet. A copy of the Veteran License Plate Application (Form DR 2380) may be found here.

*Note: This plate does not permit the owner to park their vehicle in designated disability parking spaces. Please refer to the Disabled Veteran Handicapped Plate immediately below for instructions on how to obtain it.

One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1) (b) (II) (B). A second or additional set requires a one-time fee of $50.00 for issuance or replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. Initial applications must be presented in person or by mail to the following addresses:

In Person: By Mail:
Division of Motor Vehicles Department of Revenue
Department of Revenue Title and Registration Sections
1881 Pierce St PO Box 173350
Lakewood, CO 80214-3503 Denver, CO 80217-3350

There is no limit to the number of plates that may be issued. Second and additional sets may be obtained at respective County Motor Vehicle Offices.

Learn more

Disabled Veteran Handicapped Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person who can demonstrate being 50% or more Permanent Service-Connected Disabled AND physical impairment verified in writing by a Colorado licensed physician, an advanced practice nurse, or a Commissioned Medical Officer.

In order to ensure correct documentation is submitted and to speed up the issuance process, please print and use the Disabled Veteran Handicap Checklist; this can be used as a cover sheet for the application packet once all documentation is gathered. The following links to forms are provided:

  • Persons with Disabilities Parking Privilege Application (Form DR 2219)
  • Disabled Veteran Handicap Application (Form DR 2384)

One set of plates is exempt from fees allowed by CRS 42-3-213(1) (b) (II) (B). Only one set of plates are allowed. Initial applications must be presented in person or by mail to the following addresses:

In Person: By Mail:
Division of Motor Vehicles Department of Revenue
Department of Revenue Title and Registration Sections
1881 Pierce St PO Box 173350
Lakewood, CO 80214-3503 Denver, CO 80217-3350

Learn more

U.S. Army Plate: Available for passenger cars, trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, noncommercial or recreation vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles.
Eligibility: Any person who has received an honorable discharge or is retired, or is an active or reserve member of the U.S. Army. Applicants must submit a copy of Form DD214 or other evidence of being an active or reserve member, or is retired or has received an honorable discharge from the U.S. Army. For individuals desiring a handicapped symbol on the license plate, an Application for Persons with Disabilities (Form DR 2219) must be included with the application.

One-time fee of $50.00 for issuance and replacement of plates, in addition to other taxes and fees. There is no limit to the number of plates that may be issued. Plates are available through any County Motor Vehicle Office.

Learn more

Back to top

Health and Insurance Benefits:

Medical Benefits: Full medical and Dental coverage for any injury or illness incurred in the line of duty.
Eligibility: Colorado National Guard members.

Learn more

State-Sponsored Life Insurance (SSLI): Current active members of the Colorado National Guard are automatically protected with $1,000 of SSLI at no charge. Additional supplemental life insurance for SGLI is available. This insurance pays an immediate benefit of $25,000 within 24 hours of death. Rates may be found at http://www.ssli.org, or contact the administrator at 800-462-7441.

Learn more

Back to top

 

Parks and Recreation Benefits:

Free Admission to State Parks in August: Effective July 2015 Service Members and Veterans may obtain a free Military August Pass that allows free admission to any Colorado state park or recreation area during the month of August each year. This free access during the month of August will occur each year in which general fund money is appropriated. Free access covers admission only, and does not include fees for campgrounds, yurts, or other amenities and services.
Eligibility: All active-duty, Reserve, and National Guard Service members and other than dishonorably discharged Veterans are eligible for free entry into all Colorado state parks during August. The Service member or Veteran must produce proof of service (i.e., military ID, VA medical card, DD214). Eligible applicants will receive a vehicle hang-tag pass which is valid from August 1st until August 31st. The Service member or Veteran must be present in the vehicle when using the pass.

How to Apply: Beginning in July of every year in which free access is granted, eligible applicants may obtain a free August pass at every CPW office and park. Passes cannot be issued through license or pass agents, or by phone.

For more information, please contact Colorado Parks & Wildlife at 303-297-1192, or visit http://cpw.state.co.us .

Learn more

Free Admission to State Parks for Resident Disabled Veterans: Colorado residents with current Colorado Disabled Veteran license plates may access Colorado State Parks free without a pass on the windshield. The plates are obtained through the Division of Motor Vehicles. This covers admission only and does not provide special camping rates.
Eligibility: The vehicle must display current Disabled Veteran license plates, and the disabled Veteran must be present in the vehicle.

Learn more

Columbine Annual Pass: Colorado resident disabled Veterans may apply for a Columbine Annual Pass. The fee is $14.00 per year, is transferable between vehicles and the disabled Veteran must be present in the vehicle.
Eligibility: Available to totally and permanently disabled Veterans. A photocopy of a letter from the Veterans Administration indicating a permanent and total disability is required. Click here to apply for the Columbine Pass.

Learn more

Discounted Camping: Disabled Veterans over age 64 qualify for discounted camping in state parks Sunday through Thursday, excluding holidays.

Learn more

Small Game Hunting and Fishing License: Free lifetime combination small-game hunting and fishing license.
Eligibility: Resident Veteran with a service-connected disability of 60% or more. Purple Heart recipients, who can provide documented proof, are also eligible for a VA Combo License. For more information and to apply, please see the Accessibility page​.

Learn more

Hunting and Fishing License: Military personnel stationed in Colorado on active duty and their Family members can qualify to purchase hunting and fishing licenses at the Colorado resident rates. Personnel (and their dependents) qualify for residency if they are on active duty in Colorado under permanent orders.
Eligibility: Military personnel stationed in Colorado on active duty must show proof by presenting official military documentation (military orders) when purchasing resident licenses. Active duty does not include reserve status or National Guard.

Learn more

Preference Points: Any active duty member of the United States Armed Forces stationed at any military facility in Colorado and actively deployed outside the United States or any active duty member of the United States Armed Forces who is a Colorado resident and is deployed outside the United States during the license application deadline period can apply to receive a preference point for a future hunt. A military preference point application must be completed and restrictions apply. For more information, contact Limited Licensing at 303-291-7381.

Learn more

License Refund/Preference Point Return: Licenses and preference points may be refunded to a Service member if he/she is deployed after applying for a hunting license. For more information, contact Limited Licensing at 303-291-7381.

Learn more

Advance Purchase of Leftover Hunting License: Active-duty Service members who are deployed outside of the United States and are either stationed in or residents of Colorado can purchase leftover licenses after the draw and prior to the annual leftover purchase date.

How to Apply: Applicants must check the leftover license list, complete the Military Leftover License Mail-in Request Form and find more information on the Leftover and OTC License page.

Learn more

Resident Fishing on Temporary Leave: Colorado residents who are on active duty and permanently stationed outside of the state may fish without a license while in Colorado on temporary leave. The military member must carry a copy of their leave papers with them while fishing and cannot use this exemption for more than 30 days per year.

Learn more

Wounded Warrior Program: The Colorado Parks and Wildlife Commission set aside a number of free licenses for members of the Wounded Warrior or Safe Harbor program. While there are limits on the number of licenses that can be issued, the goal of the CPW is to issue as many of these licenses as possible to qualified members of the Wounded Warrior program.
Eligibility: Wounded Warrior Program requirements include:

  • Must be a member of the U.S. Armed forces and a Colorado resident or be stationed in Colorado.
  • Must be returning from post-September 11, 2001 overseas contingency operation.
  • Must be assigned to a military medical treatment facility at the time of application.
  • Must be a qualifying member of the U.S. Armed Services Wounded Warrior or Safe Harbor program.

Learn more

Free admission on Veteran's Day (Nov. 11) to all state parks: Active duty and Veterans are admitted free to Colorado state parks on Veteran's Day. The military member or Veteran must show proof of military service (photo ID, DD-214, be in uniform, etc.). All other park fees (camping, etc.) are still charged.

Learn more

Back to top

 

Miscellaneous Benefits:

Certification of Discharge or Separation: Your local County Recorder's Office will record, without cost to the Veterans, certificates of discharge or separation from the Armed Forces of the United States. Other public records (birth, marriage, and death certificates, divorce decrees, etc.) may be recorded at no cost for Veteran-related purposes. It is very important to do this in order to preserve this very valuable document in case of fire, flood, or loss. Please contact your local County Recorder, courthouse, or Veterans Service Officer.

Learn more

State Veterans Nursing Homes: Colorado's State Veterans Homes are located in the following areas:

Colorado's State and Veterans Nursing Homes offer the following services:

  • Long-term care: These services include skilled nursing care; speech, physical and occupational therapy; social activities; and assistance with bathing, dressing and other daily activities.
  • Short-term rehabilitation: Individuals seeking to return home following a qualifying hospital stay can work to regain skills and improve physical strength, endurance and aerobic capacity through Medicare-certified rehabilitation services.
  • Domiciliary cottages (similar to assisted living): The Colorado State Veterans Center at Homelake (Monte Vista) offers assisted living-like services in 48 recently renovated cottages.
  • Memory care services: Specialized care for individuals with dementia is offered in all State and Veterans Nursing Homes. Secure units are available at the State Veterans Home at Fitzsimons, Florence, Rifle and Walsenburg.
  • Short-term "respite" care: Respite care can provide a helpful option when homecare providers are unavailable. These short-term stays are offered at the State Veterans Homes at Florence, Homelake, Rifle and Walsenburg.
  • End-of-life/hospice services: Comfort-oriented care is offered at all State and Veterans Nursing Homes.

Eligibility: Honorably discharged Veterans, Veterans' Spouses or Widows/Widowers and "Gold-Star Parents" (non-Veterans, any of whose Children have died while serving in the Armed Forces) are eligible for long-term care or short-term rehabilitation in our Home. Medical criteria also must be met.

Learn more

Veterans' Memorial Cemetery of Western Colorado: The Cemetery officially opened on September 5, 2002. It is located on 22.5 acres at 2830 Riverside Parkway, Grand Junction, Colorado, Just east of the Grand Junction Regional Center. It has a capacity of 3,337 units, including 1,758 for casketed remains and 1,579 units for cremated remains (of which 861 are columbarium wall niches). Additionally, there are 775 memorial garden plots available for Veterans whose remains were not recovered, donated to science, or otherwise unavailable for internment.
Eligibility: Any Colorado member of the U. S. Armed Forces who dies on active duty or deceased Veterans who held a discharge under honorable conditions are eligible for internment in the Cemetery. With certain exceptions, service beginning after September 7, 1980 as an enlisted person, and October 16, 1981 as an officer, must be for a minimum of 24 months or the full period for which the Service member was called to active duty. Reservists, National Guard Service members, and Reserve Officer Training Program members who either died while on active duty or training or as a result of injury or illness contracted or incurred under honorable conditions or those Service members who were entitled to retired pay are also eligible.

Spouses, surviving Spouses, and unmarried minor Children (under age 21, or 23 if attending college) are also eligible for internment in the Cemetery. Unmarried adult Children over the age of 21 are eligible if the Child is physically or mentally disabled and incapable of self-support before reaching the age of 21 or 23 if attending college full time. Supporting documentation must be provided.

There is no charge for internment in the Veterans Memorial Cemetery of Western Colorado. A gravesite or niche, opening/closing, funeral honors, an upright granite headstone or niche marker with authorized inscriptions, concrete grave liner for casketed remains, use of Committal Shelter and/or Visitors' Center, and perpetual care of the gravesite are provided at no expense to the next-of-kin. Cremated remains are buried or inurned in the same manner and with the same honors as casketed remains.

A United States flag is provided at no cost to drape the casket or accompany the urn of the deceased Veteran who served honorably in the U.S. Armed Forces. A Presidential Memorial Certificate is also available; cemetery staff is able to assist with processing this request. Funeral honors may be provided by the Veteran's service branch (active duty) or the Colorado Army National Guard and/or the Grand Valley Combined Honor Guard for all eligible Veterans.

Learn more

The Veterans Trust Fund: The Colorado Board of Veterans Affairs through a grant program provides grants from the Colorado state Veterans Trust Fund. The grant program is available to provide funds to assist in Veteran programs. Such programs may include, but are not limited to; transportation programs, food and shelter for homeless Veterans and their Families, incarcerated Veterans' programs, homeless stand downs, job assistance programs and other worthwhile programs that provide a "direct service" to the Veteran community. Memorials, club renovations, honor guards and tributes to Veterans are not included in the grant program. The board in determining who receives a grant award places emphasis on rural communities and grantees that describe how the program will be continued in the absence of continued funding. Only nationally chartered Veterans service organizations are eligible to apply for a grant. The application must address the needs of Veterans in your community. Completed applications should be mailed to:

Veteran's Trust Fund Information
Colorado Division of Veterans Affairs
ATTN: Grant Administrator
1355 South Colorado Blvd, Bldg C, Ste 113
Denver, Colorado 80222

Learn more

Back to top

 

Military Installations and Veterans Affairs Facilities in Colorado
Please see the Colorado Resource Locator for additional information.

 

Active Duty

Army
Fort Carson, Colorado Springs, El Paso County

Air Force
Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs

Buckley AFB, Aurora

Cheyenne Mountain, Colorado Springs

North American Aerospace Defense Command, Colorado Springs

Peterson AFB, Colorado Springs

Schriever AFB, Colorado Springs, El Paso County

National Guard - http://co.ng.mil/

Colorado Army National Guard

Colorado Air National Guard - 140th Wing, Aurora

 

Veterans Administration (VA) Medical Facilities in Colorado

Veterans Health Administration
VA Health Care System
Denver: VA Eastern Colorado Health Care System (ECHCS), 1055 Clermont St, 303-399-8020

VA Medical Center
Grand Junction: Grand Junction VA Medical Center, 2121 North Ave, 970-242-0731 / 866-206-6415

Outpatient Clinic
Aurora: Jewell Clinic, 14400 E Jewell Ave, 303-270-6400
Burlington: Burlington VA Outreach Clinic, 1177 Rose Ave, 719-346-5239
Glenwood Springs: Glenwood Springs VA Telehealth Clinic, 2425 S Grand Ave, Suite 101, 970-945-1007
Salida: Salida VA Telehealth Outreach Clinic, 920 Rush Dr, 719-539-8666
Sterling: Sterling Mobile Telehealth Clinic, 100 College Dr, 888-483-9127 x 3816

Community Based Outpatient Clinics
Alamosa: Alamosa Outpatient Clinic, 622 Del Sol Dr, 719-587-6800
Aurora: Aurora Outpatient Clinic, 13701 E. Mississippi Ave, Gateway Medical Bldg #200, 303-398-6340
Colorado Springs: PFC Floyd K. Lindstrom Outpatient Clinic at Colorado Springs, 3141 Centennial Blvd, 719-327-5660
Craig: Craig CBOC, 785 Russell St, 970-824-6721 / Fax: 970-824-9439
Durango: Durango Clinic, 1970 East Third Ave, Suite 102, 970-247-2214 / Fax: 970-247-3277
Ft. Collins: Fort Collins VA MSOC , 2509 Research Blvd, 970-224-1550
Golden: Golden Outpatient Clinic, 1020 Johnson Rd, 303-914-2680
Greeley: Greeley VA MSOC, 2001 70th Ave, Suite 200, 970-313-0027
La Junta: La Junta Outpatient Clinic, 1100 Carson Ave, Suite 104, 719-383-5195
Lamar: Lamar Outpatient Clinic, 1401 South Main St, Suite 2, 719-336-0315 / Fax: 719-336-0816
Montrose: Montrose Outpatient Clinic, 154 Colorado Ave, 970-249-7791
Pueblo: Pueblo Outpatient Clinic, 4776 Eagleridge Cir, 719-553-1000 / 719-584-5496

Vet Center - 877-927-8387
Boulder: Boulder Vet Center, 4999 Pearl East Cir, Suite 106, 303-440-7306 / Fax: 303-449-3907
Colorado Springs: Colorado Springs Vet Center, 602 South Nevada Ave, 719-471-9992 / Fax: 719-632-7571
Denver: 4A RCS Western Mountain Regional Office, 789 Sherman St, Suite 570, 303-577-5207 / Fax: 303-860-7614
Denver: Denver Vet Center, 7465 East First Ave, Suite B, 303-326-0645 / Fax: 303-326-0715
Fort Collins: Fort Collins Vet Center, 702 W Drake Bldg C, 970-221-5176 / Fax: 970-482-9428
Grand Junction: Grand Junction Vet Center, 2472 Patterson Rd, Unit 16, 970-245-4156 / Fax: 970-245-7623
Pueblo: Pueblo Vet Center, 1515 Fortino Blvd, Suite 130, 719-583-4058 / Fax: 719-583-4074

VISN
Glendale: VISN 19: Rocky Mountain Network

Veterans Benefits Administration
Regional Office
Lakewood: Denver Regional Benefit Office, 155 Van Gordon St, 800-827-1000

Intake Site (Pre-Discharge Claims Assistance)
For Carson: Buckley Air Force Base, 1305 McCullough Dr, Bldg 5510
Fort Carson: Fort Carson, 1305 McCollogh Dr, Bldg 5510
Fort Carson: Peterson Air Force Base, 1627 Evans St, Bldg 1219, Rm VA1
Fort Carson: Schriever Air Force Base, 1628 Evans St, Bldg 1219, Rm VA1
Fort Carson: USAF Academy, 1629 Evans St, Bldg 1219, Room VA1

Regional Loan Center
Lakewood: Denver Regional Loan Center, 155 Van Gordon St

National Cemetery Administration
Memorial Service Network
Lakewood: Continental District, 155 Van Gordon St, 303-914-5720 / Fax: 303-914-5715

National Cemetery
Denver: Fort Logan National Cemetery, 4400 W. Kenyon Ave, 303-761-0117 / Fax: 303-781-9378
Las Animas: Fort Lyon National Cemetery, 15700 County Rd HH, 303-761-0117 / Fax: 303-781-9378

Veterans Affairs Central Offices
VA Central Offices
Denver: Chief Business Office, Purchased Care, 1-800-733-8387

Learn more

Back to top

Resources

http://www.va.gov/
https://www.colorado.gov/revenue
https://www.colorado.gov/dmva
http://www.retirementliving.com/taxes-alabama-iowa#COLORADO
http://cpw.state.co.us/
https://www.colorado.gov/cdle/jobs-training
http://www.dol.gov/elaws/vets/realifelines/stateinfo.htm?state=CO
http://cpw.state.co.us/aboutus/Pages/Accessibility.aspx

http://www.fedshirevets.gov/job/vetpref/index.aspx

http://mic3.net/pages/contact/Map/colorado.aspx

Back to top

Document Review Date: 26 August 2015