State / Territory Benefits - Arkansas

Tweet
Share

State Taxes
Education Benefits
Employment Benefits
Unemployment Compensation
DMV Related Benefits
Health Insurance Benefits
Parks and Recreation Benefits
Miscellaneous Benefits
Resource Locator
Veterans Administration (VA) Medical Facilities
Resources

Summary: The state of Arkansas offers special benefits for its military Service members and Veterans including property tax exemptions, state employment preferences, education and tuition assistance, vehicle tags, as well as hunting and fishing license privileges. Eligibility for some benefits may depend on residency, military component and Veteran disability status.

State Benefit Highlights and Eligibility

State Taxes:

State Tax Advantage: The Military Pay Exemption (Act 1408 of 2013) created a 100% exemption from income tax for service pay or allowance received by an active duty member of the armed forces for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014.
Eligibility: Active duty includes all members of the armed forces, including the National Guard and Reserve Units.

Learn more 

Military Spouses Residency Relief Act: Exempts a military Spouse's income from Arkansas tax if the Service member's Home of Record is not Arkansas and the Spouse's domicile is the same as the Service member's Home of Record. Effective January 1, 2009.

Learn more 

The Military Family Tax Relief Act of 2003 (Act 372 of 2009): Provisions of this act include exclusion of gain on sale of principal residence, deduction of overnight travel expenses for National Guard and Reserve members, and exclusion from income of "qualified military benefits".

Learn more 

The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act

  • Deferral of Tax - Upon notice to the Internal Revenue Service or the tax authority of a state or a political subdivision of a state, the collection of income tax on the income of a Servicemember falling due before or during military service shall be deferred for a period not more than 180 days after termination of or release from military service, if a Servicemember's ability to pay such income tax is materially affected by military service.
  • Accrual of Interest or Penalty - No interest or penalty shall accrue for the period of deferment by reason of nonpayment on any amount of tax deferred under this section.
  • Statute of Limitations - The running of a statute of limitations against the collection of tax deferred under this section, by seizure or otherwise, shall be suspended for the period of military service of the Servicemember and for an additional period of 270 days thereafter.
  • Residence or Domicile - A Servicemember shall neither lose nor acquire a residence or domicile for purposes of taxation with respect to the person, personal property, or income of the Servicemember by reason of being absent or present in any tax jurisdiction of the United States solely in compliance with military orders.
  • Military Service Compensation - Compensation of a Servicemember for military service shall not be deemed to be income for services performed or from sources within a tax jurisdiction of the United States if the Servicemember is not a resident or domiciliary of the jurisdiction in which the Servicemember is serving in compliance with military orders.

Learn more 

Homestead and Personal Property Tax Exemption: Disabled Veterans shall be exempt from payment of all state taxes on the homestead and personal property owned by the disabled Veteran.
Eligibility: Arkansas Veterans who have been rated, by the VA, as 100% service connected (Permanent and Total) or awarded Special Monthly Compensation for loss or loss of use of one or more limbs total blindness in one or both eyes. Widows or Widowers, so long as they do not remarry, dependent Children, during their minority, are also eligible for this entitlement if the Veteran was killed or died in the scope of his military duties, is missing in action, or died from service connected causes as certified by the Department of Veterans Affairs. If subsequent marriage is terminated, surviving Spouse may be reinstated. In all cases, annual re-certification of continued entitlement by the VA is required. In all cases, annual re-certification of continued entitlement by the VA is required. (AR Code 26-3-306 et. seq.) 

Learn more

Gross Receipt of Tax Exemption: Gross receipts and gross proceeds derived from the sale of motor vehicles and adaptive equipment to disabled Veterans who have purchased the vehicles or adaptive equipment with the financial assistance of the Department of Veterans Affairs as provided under 38 U.S.C. 1901-1905. (AR Code 26-52-401(6)-et. seq.) Gross receipts or proceeds derived from the sale of new automobiles to a Veteran who is blind as a result of a service-connected injury. Registration will require an entitlement letter from the VA and will be limited to one new vehicle every two (2) years. This exemption defines "automobile" as a passenger vehicle or pickup truck but does not include trucks with a maximum gross load in excess of three-quarter (3/4) ton and does not include any trailer. (AR Code 26-52-415 et. seq.)
Eligibility: A Veteran who is blind as a result of a service-connected injury. Registration will require an entitlement letter from the VA and will be limited to one new vehicle every two (2) years. (AR Code 26-52-415 et.seq)

Learn more

Retired Military Pay: Up to $6,000 of federal retirement pay and/or survivor benefits excluded. (AR Code 26-51-307 et. seq.)

Military Disability Retired Pay: Retirees who entered the military before September 24, 1975, and members receiving disability retirements based on combat injuries or who could receive disability payments from the VA are covered by laws giving disability broad exemption from federal income tax. Most military retired pay based on service-related disabilities also is free from federal income tax, but there is no guarantee of total protection.

Learn more

VA Disability Dependency and Indemnity Compensation: Not subject to federal or state taxes.

Military SBP/ RCSBP/RSFPP: Generally subject to state taxes for those states with income tax. Check with the State Department of Finance and Administration office. Up to $6,000 of survivor benefits excluded.

Learn more

Back to top  

 

Education Benefits:

Military Dependents Scholarship Program (MDS): The Military Dependents Scholarship Program (MDS), provides financial aid for undergraduate students seeking a bachelor's degree or certificate of completion at any public college, university or technical school in Arkansas who qualify as a Spouse or dependent Child of an Arkansas resident who has been declared to be missing in action, killed in action, a prisoner of war, or killed on ordnance delivery, or a Veteran who has been declared to be 100% totally and permanently disabled during, or as a result of, active military service.
Eligibility: The Spouse or dependent Child must:

  • Be a bona fide Arkansas resident;
  • Be a citizen of the United States or permanent resident alien;
  • Be the biological, legally adopted Child OR Spouse of an eligible Arkansas Veteran;
  • Be enrolled, or be accepted for admission to, an approved Arkansas public institution;
  • Provide required documentation as determined by the Arkansas Department of Higher Education in order to determine eligibility.

Continuing Eligibility Requirements:

  • Must maintain a minimum GPA of 2.0 on a 4.0 scale.
  • Must complete a minimum of 24 semester hours per academic year.

Award Amount:  The MDS Program will cover the unpaid portion of the cost (if any) of tuition and mandatory fees and a room and meal plan when provided in on-campus facilities after three (3) months of Dependents Education Assistance (DEA) or Chapter 35 benefits have been deducted from the total costs. If there is no positive balance after deduction of DEA benefits, then no benefits will be paid.

The MDS Program cannot be used to cover the cost of books, auto permit, damages or accessories to dorm room, or utility bills. The institution will be reimbursed for covered charges after verification of full-time (12 or more credit hours) enrollment each semester. Eligibility is limited to eight semesters or the achievement of a degree, whichever occurs first. The Spouse will no longer be eligible if he or she remarries.

Learn more

Diplomas for Veterans: High School Diplomas can be obtained for WWII Veterans as well as Korean and Vietnam Veterans who were called up for active duty service before finishing high school. Qualifying Veterans should contact their school superintendent or the Arkansas Department of Education.

Learn more

In State Tuition: Regardless of residence, a state-supported institution of higher education, trade schools, or vocational schools shall classify a student as in-state, in-county, in-district, or resident for the purpose of tuition and fees applicable for all programs of study, including distance learning programs, if the student is a:

  • (1) Veteran who was discharged or released from a period of not  less than ninety (90) days of active duty in the military, naval, or air service within three (3) years before the date of enrollment in a program of study;
  • (2) Dependent of a Veteran under paragraph 1;
  • (3) A member of the armed forces
  • (4) A Spouse of a member of the armed forces (AR Code § 6-60-205)

Learn more 

Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military Children: It is the purpose of this compact to remove barriers to educational success imposed on Children of military Families because of frequent moves and deployment of their parents by:

  • Facilitating the timely enrollment of Children of military Families and ensuring that they are not placed at a disadvantage due to difficulty in the transfer of educational records from the previous school district or variations in entrance or age requirements.
  • Facilitating the student placement process through which Children of military Families are not disadvantaged by variations in attendance requirements, scheduling, sequencing, grading, course content or assessment.
  • Facilitating the qualification and eligibility for enrollment, educational programs, and participation in extracurricular academic, athletic and social activities.
  • Facilitating the on-time graduation of Children of military Families.
  • Providing for the promulgation and enforcement of administrative rules implementing the provisions of this compact.
  • Providing for the uniform collection and sharing of information between and among member states, schools and military Families under this compact.
  • Promoting coordination between this compact and other compacts affecting military Children.
  • Promoting flexibility and cooperation between the educational system, parents and the student in order to achieve educational success for the student.

Primary Point of Contact:
John I. "Don" Kaminar, Commissioner, Special Project Manager, Arkansas Department of Education
Address: Four Capitol Mall, Room 403-A
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
Email: john.kaminar@arkansas.gov
Phone: 501-683-5188

Learn more

Back to top 

 

Employment Benefits:

Employment Assistance: State employees have 15 days of paid military leave per year for annual training requirements or other duties performed in an official duty status; Personnel called to duty in emergency situations by the Governor or the President shall be granted leave with pay not to exceed thirty (30) working days after which leave without pay will be granted . (AR Code 21-4-212)
Eligibility: Arkansas National Guard or Reserve member

Learn more

Veteran's Hiring Preference (State): State agencies and institutions of higher education are required to give preference to certain qualified Veterans, their Spouses, or the surviving Spouse of a deceased qualified Veteran in hiring and employment.

If an examination, evaluation, or similar instrument is given to establish a list of qualified candidates to be interviewed for a position at a state agency or institution of higher education subject to the Uniform Classification and Compensation Act, and an applicant entitled to a Veterans preference attains a passing grade, the applicant shall have five (5) points added to his or her final earned rating if the examination, evaluation, or similar instrument is subject to numerical scoring.

If the examination, evaluation, or similar instrument is not subject to numerical scoring, the selection authority shall demonstrate how Veterans preference was applied in developing a list of qualified candidates to be interviewed and selecting the successful candidate,

Disabled Veterans, Veterans over the age of fifty five (55) and who are disabled and entitled to a pension or compensation, or the Spouse of a disabled Veteran shall have ten (10) points added to his/her final rating score.

If a Veteran is not selected for a position and a numerical score was used, at the Veteran's request the selection authority shall provide the Veteran with his or her base score, adjusted score, and the successful candidate's score.

If a scoring method other than numerical was used, at the Veteran's request, the selection authority shall provide all documentation to the Veteran to demonstrate how the Veterans preference was used to develop the interview list and how the successful candidate was selected.

There are two types of preference eligibility:

  • Non-disabled (five-point preference eligible)
  • Disabled (10-point preference eligible)

Learn more 

Veteran's Hiring Preferences (Federal): By Federal law, Veterans who are disabled or who served on active duty in the United States Armed Forces during certain specified time periods or in military campaigns are entitled to preference over non-Veterans both in hiring into the Federal civil service and in retention during reduction in force. Veterans may be entitled to 5 or 10 points included in any scoring process for examination or interviews.

5-point Hiring Preference: Five points are added to the examination score or rating of a Veteran who served:

  • During a war; or
  • During the period April 28, 1952 through July 1, 1955; or
  • For more than 180 consecutive days, other than for training, any part of which occurred after January 31, 1955, and before October 15, 1976; or
  • During the Gulf War from August 2, 1990, through January 2, 1992; or
  • For more than 180 consecutive days, other than for training, any part of which occurred during the period beginning September 11, 2001, and ending on August 31, 2010, the last day of Operation Iraqi Freedom; or
  • In a campaign or expedition for which a campaign medal has been authorized. Any Armed Forces Expeditionary medal or campaign badge, including El Salvador, Lebanon, Grenada, Panama, Southwest Asia, Somalia, and Haiti, qualifies for preference.

10-point Compensable Disability (CP) Preference: Ten points are added to the examination score or rating of:

  • A Veteran who served at any time and who has a compensable service-connected disability rating of at least 10 percent but less than 30 percent.

10-Point 30 Percent Compensable Disability Preference (CPS): Ten points are added to the passing examination score or rating of a Veteran who served at any time and who has a compensable service-connected disability rating of 30 percent or more.

10-Point Disability Preference (XP): Ten points are added to the passing examination score or rating of:

  • A Veteran who served at any time and has a present service-connected disability or is receiving compensation, disability retirement benefits, or pension from the military or the Department of Veterans Affairs but does not qualify as a CP or CPS; or
  • A Veteran who received a Purple Heart.

10-Point Derived Preference (XP): Ten points are added to the passing examination score or rating of Spouses, Widows, Widowers, or Mothers of Veterans as described below. This type of preference is usually referred to as "derived preference" because it is based on service of a Veteran who is not able to use the preference. Both a Mother and a Spouse (including Widow or Widower) may be entitled to preference on the basis of the same Veteran's service if they both meet the requirements. However, neither may receive preference if the Veteran is living and is qualified for Federal employment.

Ten points are added to the passing examination score or rating of the Spouse of a disabled Veteran who is disqualified for a Federal position along the general lines of his or her usual occupation because of a service-connected disability. Such a disqualification may be presumed when the Veteran is unemployed and

  • Is rated by appropriate military or Department of Veterans Affairs authorities to be 100 percent disabled and/or unemployable; or
  • Has retired, been separated, or resigned from a civil service position on the basis of a disability that is service-connected in origin; or
  • Has attempted to obtain a civil service position or other position along the lines of his or her usual occupation and has failed to qualify because of a service-connected disability.

Preference may be allowed in other circumstances but anything less than the above warrants a more careful analysis.

A campaign medal holder or Gulf War Veteran who originally enlisted after September 7, 1980, (or began active duty on or after October 14, 1982, and has not previously completed 24 months of continuous active duty) must have served continuously for 24 months or the full period called or ordered to active duty. The 24-month service requirement does not apply to 10-point preference eligible Veterans separated for disability incurred or aggravated in the line of duty, or to Veterans separated for hardship or other reasons under 10 U.S.C. 1171 or 1173.

  Learn More

Employment Counseling and Referral Services: The Arkansas Department of Workforce Services provides employment counseling and referral services tailored to the special needs of Veterans. They also maintain an ongoing program of job development designed to create jobs and preferences for all Veterans, through the Local Veterans Employment Representatives (LVER's) and the Disabled Veterans Outreach program (DVOP).
Eligibility: Veterans

Learn more

Back to top 

 

Unemployment Compensation:

Unemployment Insurance: The Unemployment Services division provides financial assistance and employment services to jobless workers. Unem­ployment insurance is temporary income to help workers who are unemployed through no fault of their own. Click here to review the Unemployment Insurance Handbook.

You can file your Unemployment claims online at EZARC (Easy Arkansas Claims) or at your local Workforce Services office. You will be asked to provide basic information about yourself such as:

  • Your name & mailing address
  • Your Social Security Number
  • The name & address of your last employer
  • The last day you worked & the reason you are no longer working
  • DD 214, Member 4 (covering the 18 months prior to filing your initial claim)
  • If you are receiving or will receive Retirement Pay, please contact your local DWS office for further instructions.

Click here for the Workforce Services local office listing contact information.

Learn more

Back to top

 

Office of Motor Vehicle Benefits:

Special Vehicle License Plates: The Arkansas Department of Finance & Administration Office of Motor Vehicle will provide (upon receipt of proper certification letters) a number of special privileges and benefits for Arkansas residents, including special license plates for Congressional Medal of Honor recipients, Purple Heart recipients, Ex-Prisoners of War, Disabled Veterans, Pearl Harbor Survivors, Armed Forces Retired, and Military Reserve.

Learn more

Congressional Medal of Honor Plate: Issued to Medal of Honor Recipients. The surviving Spouse of a deceased recipient of the Medal of Honor is entitled to the plate at the regular registration fee for the vehicle. Requires a certification letter from the Arkansas State Department of Veterans Affairs of having been awarded the Medal of Honor. Initial plate is free and an additional plate is $3.89. One (1) plate may be reissued to surviving Spouse at the regular registration fee.

Learn more

Distinguished Flying Cross Plate: Certification by the U.S. Department of Defense of the award of the "Distinguished Flying Cross". Surviving Spouses who are not joint owners of the vehicle must present a marriage license and death certificate. Each Veteran is limited to only one Distinguished Flying Cross plate.
Eligibility: Issued to an Arkansas resident who has been awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross Medal while serving in the U.S. Armed Forces, or a resident who is the surviving Spouse of a Distinguished Flying Cross Medal recipient. Initial plate is $3.89. Eligible applicant may receive one (1) additional plate at regular registration fees. One (1) plate may be reissued to surviving Spouse at the regular registration fee.

Learn more

Purple Heart - Combat Wounded (PH) Plate: Issued to an Arkansas resident who has been awarded the Purple Heart Medal while serving in the U.S. Armed forces, or a resident who is the unmarried surviving Spouse of a Purple Heart recipient. Requires certification by the U.S. Department of Defense of the award of the "Purple Heart". Surviving Spouses who are not joint owners of the vehicle must present a marriage license and death certificate. Initial plate is free and an additional plate is $3.89. One (1) plate may be reissued to surviving Spouse at the regular registration fee.

Learn more

Purple Heart Motorcycle Plate: Issued to an Arkansas resident who has been awarded the Purple Heart medal while serving in the U.S. Armed forces, or a resident who is the unmarried surviving Spouse of a Purple Heart recipient. Requires certification by the U.S. Department of Defense of the award of the "Purple Heart". Unmarried surviving Spouses who are not joint owners of the vehicle must present a marriage license and death certificate. Fee is dependent on weight of motorcycle.

Learn more

Ex-Prisoner of War (POW) Plate: Issued to any Arkansas resident who was a prisoner of war while serving in the U.S. Armed Forces or surviving Spouse. Requires certification of the applicant's former P.O.W. status from the U.S. Department of Defense. A surviving Spouse, who is not already joint owner of the vehicle, must present a copy of the death certificate of the deceased prisoner of war reflected on the registration of the POW license plate. An eligible Veteran is limited to two (2) Ex-POW plates at no charge. One (1) plate issued to the eligible Veteran may be reissued to his or her surviving Spouse at the regular registration.

Learn more

Disabled Veteran (DAV) Plate: Disabled Veterans may qualify for these plates under Act 7 of 1949, or Act 30 of 1979 as certified by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). The surviving Spouse of a disabled Veteran may also be issued a disabled Veteran license plate. Requires a letter from the Department of Veterans Affairs verifying the disabled Veteran's eligibility under Act 7 of 1949 or Act 30 of 1979. A surviving Spouse, who is not already joint owner of the vehicle, must also present a marriage license and the death certificate of the disabled Veteran. Initial plate is free.  An eligible Veteran may receive one (1) additional plate at the fee of $3.89. One (1) plate may be reissued to surviving Spouse at the regular registration fee.

Learn more

Disabled Veteran (DV) Plate: Disabled Veterans may qualify for these plates under Act 36 of 1969 as certified by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). The surviving Spouse of a disabled Veteran may also be issued a disabled Veteran license plate.
Eligibility: Requires a letter from the Department of Veterans Affairs verifying the disabled Veteran's eligibility under Act 36 of 1969. A surviving Spouse, who is not already joint owner of the vehicle, must also present a marriage license and the death certificate of the disabled Veteran. Initial fee is $3.89. An eligible Veteran may receive one (1) additional plate at the fee of $3.89. One (1) plate issued to the eligible Veteran may be reissued to his or her surviving Spouse at the regular registration fee for the vehicle.

Learn more

World War II Veteran Plate: Issued to any Arkansas resident who is a Veteran of World War II (7 Dec 1941 to 2 Mar 1946). Requires a copy of form # DD214 reflecting service during World War II. Initial plate is $3.89. Each Veteran is limited to only one plate. Eligible applicant may receive one (1) additional plate at regular registration fees.

Learn more

Pearl Harbor Survivors (PHS) Plate: Specialty license plate for US Armed Forces survivors of the attack at Pearl Harbor, HI. Issued to Arkansas residents who were a member of the US Armed Forces on December 7, 1941, during the hours of 7:55 am to 9:45 am Hawaii Time at Pearl Harbor, the Island of Oahu, or offshore at a distance not to exceed three (3) miles.
Eligibility: Requires verification of eligibility form signed by the Arkansas State Chairman of the Pearl Harbor Survivor Association. One (1) plate issued to the eligible Veteran may be reissued to his or her surviving Spouse at the regular registration fee for the vehicle. Initial plate is free with an additional plate fee of $3.89.

Learn more

Korean War Veteran Plate: Issued to any Arkansas resident who is a Veteran of the Korean War (7 Jun 1950 to 27 Jul 1954). Requires a copy of form # DD214 reflecting service during Korean War. Initial plate is $3.89. Each Veteran is limited to only one plate at the $3.89 fee. Eligible applicant may receive one (1) additional plate at regular registration fees.

Learn more

Vietnam War Veteran Plate: Issued to any Arkansas resident who is a Veteran of the Vietnam War (5 Aug 1964 to 7 May 1975) (in country - 28 Feb 1961 to 5 Aug 1964). Requires a copy of form # DD214 reflecting service during the Vietnam War. Initial plate is $3.89. Each Veteran is limited to only one plate at the $3.89 fee. Eligible applicant may receive one (1) additional plate at regular registration fees.

Learn more

Cold War Veteran Plate: Issued to any Arkansas resident who is a Veteran of the Cold War. Requires a copy of form # DD214 reflecting service during the period of 2 Sep 1945 through 26 Dec 1991. Registration fee and titles vary depending on vehicle type and class.

Learn more

Persian Gulf War Veteran Plate: Issued to any Arkansas resident who is a Veteran of the Persian Gulf War (2 Aug1990 to Nov 30 1995). Requires a copy of form # DD214 reflecting service during Persian Gulf War. Initial plate is $3.89. Each Veteran is limited to only one plate at the $3.89 fee. Eligible applicant may receive one (1) additional plate at regular registration fees.

Learn more

Operation Enduring Freedom Veteran Plate: Issued to any Arkansas resident who is a Veteran of Operation Enduring Freedom. Requires a copy of form DD214 reflecting service during Operation Enduring Freedom. Initial plate is $3.89. Eligible applicant may receive one (1) additional plate at regular registration fees.

Learn more

Operation Iraqi Freedom Veteran Plate: Issued to any Arkansas resident who is a Veteran of Operation Iraqi Freedom. Requires a copy of form DD214 reflecting service during Operation Iraqi Freedom. Initial plate is $3.89. Eligible applicant may receive one (1) additional plate at regular registration fees.

Learn more

U.S. Armed Forces Reserve Plate: Issued to any Arkansas resident who is an active member in the Reserve of the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps or Air Force.
Eligibility: Must be Arkansas resident, active in the Reserve of the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps or Air Force. Requires an affidavit from the commanding officer of the reserve unit certifying membership of the applicant's active status. Initial plate is $3.89. Eligible applicant may receive one (1) additional plate at regular registration fees.

Learn more

National Guard Plate: No cost for specialty license plate for active members of the Arkansas Army National Guard and the Air National Guard. Contact your local Guard Unit for requirements.

Learn more

U.S. Armed Forces Retired Plate: Issued to any Arkansas resident who is a retired member of the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, or National Guard.
Eligibility: Must be Arkansas resident who is a retired member of the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, or National Guard. Requires a copy of the retirement orders from one of the above services. Each member is limited to only one (1) Armed Forces Retired License Plate at the $3.89 fee. Eligible applicant may receive one (1) additional plate at regular registration fees.

Learn more

Gold Star Family Plate: Issued to Spouse or parent of a member of the armed forces of the United States, killed in a conflict recognized by the United States Department of Defense, and who has received a Gold Star Lapel Button issued by the United States Department of Defense. There is no charge for plate. No more than one (1) Gold Star Family license plate will be issued to an eligible applicant.

Learn more

Back to top

 

 

Health and Insurance Benefits:

Group Insurance: National Guard members receive up to $50,000 of coverage for members; $25,000 for Spouse; $10,000 for each dependent.
Eligibility: Arkansas National Guard member

Learn more

Life Insurance Incentive: $10,000 worth of life insurance from the NGAA for one year at no charge.
Eligibility: New members of the Arkansas National Guard

Learn more

Workers Compensation: National Guard members are eligible for worker's compensation.
Eligibility: Arkansas National Guard member

Back to top

 

Parks and Recreation Benefits:

Hunting and Fishing Licenses: The Arkansas Game and Fish Commission provides discounted hunting and fishing licenses to Arkansas Veterans who are 100% totally and permanently disabled or military Retirees over the age of 60.

Learn more

Resident Disabled Military Veteran Lifetime Fishing License ($1.50): Entitles all 100% totally and permanently disabled persons privileges of the Resident Fisheries Conservation License. A Resident Trout Permit must also be purchased to retain trout or to fish in certain waters. Holders of this license, along with another licensed individual to assist, may fish at Family Fishing locations. Veterans must be 100% totally and permanently disabled with certification from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs. Proof of 60 days Arkansas residency is required. This license is available from the AGFC Little Rock office and by mail. Call (800) 364-4263 or (501) 223-6388 in the Little Rock area, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday, for details. Arkansas Game & Fish Commission Resident Disabled Military Veteran Lifetime License Application

Resident Disabled Military Veteran Lifetime Hunting License ($1.50): Entitles all 100% totally and permanently disabled Veterans the privileges of the Resident Sportsman's License. Annual Harvest Information Program (HIP) registration is required to hunt migratory game birds. To hunt waterfowl, state and federal waterfowl stamps also are required. Veterans must be 100% totally and permanently disabled with certification from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs. Proof of 60 days Arkansas residency is required. This license is available from the AGFC Little Rock office and by mail. Call (800) 364-4263 or (501) 223-6388 in the Little Rock area, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday, for details. Arkansas Game & Fish Commission Resident Disabled Military Veteran Lifetime License Application

Resident Disabled Military Veteran Lifetime Combination License ($3.00): Entitles all 100% totally and permanently disabled Veterans the privileges of the Resident Sportsman's License (hunting) and the Resident Fisheries Conservation License (fishing). Harvest Information Program (HIP) registration is required to hunt migratory game birds. To hunt waterfowl, state and federal waterfowl stamps are also required. A trout permit must be purchased to fish in certain waters. Veterans must be 100% totally and permanently disabled with certification from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs. Proof of 60 days Arkansas residency is required. This license is available from the AGFC Little Rock office and by mail. Call (800) 364-4263 or (501) 223-6388 in the Little Rock area, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday, for details. Arkansas Game & Fish Commission Resident Disabled Military Veteran Lifetime License Application

Learn more

Resident Military Retiree Lifetime Fishing License ($10.50): Entitles military Retirees the privileges of the Resident Fisheries Conservation License. A Resident Trout Permit also must be purchased to retain trout or to fish in certain waters. Military Retirees must be 60 years of age or older and provide proof of military retirement (Military ID Card). Proof of 60 days Arkansas residency is required. This license is available from all AGFC Regional Offices and by mail. Call (800) 364-4263 or (501) 223-6300 in the Little Rock area, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday, for details. Arkansas Game & Fish Commission Resident Military Retiree Lifetime License Application

Resident Military Retiree Lifetime Hunting License ($25.00): Entitles military Retirees the privileges of the Resident Sportsman's License. Annual Harvest Information Program (HIP) registration is required to hunt migratory game birds. To hunt waterfowl, state and federal waterfowl stamps also are required. Military Retirees must be 60 years of age or older and provide proof of military retirement (Military ID Card). Proof of 60 days Arkansas residency is required. This license is available from all AGFC Regional Offices and by mail. Call (800) 364-4263 or (501) 223-6300 in the Little Rock area, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday, for details. Arkansas Game & Fish Commission Resident Military Retiree Lifetime License Application

Resident Military Retiree Lifetime Combination License ($35.50): Entitles military Retirees the privileges of the Resident Sportsman's License (hunting) and the Resident Fisheries Conservation License (fishing). Harvest Information Program (HIP) registration is required to hunt migratory game birds. To hunt waterfowl, state and federal waterfowl stamps are also required. A trout permit must be purchased to fish in certain waters. Military Retirees must be 60 years of age or older and provide proof of military retirement (Military ID Card). Proof of 60 days Arkansas residency is required. This license is available from all AGFC Regional Offices and by mail. Call (800) 364-4263 or (501) 223-6300 in the Little Rock area, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday, for details. Arkansas Game & Fish Commission Resident Military Retiree Lifetime License Application

Learn more

Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism: The Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism provides Arkansas resident Veterans, who have a permanent service connected 100% disability rate, the ability to camp for half price in Arkansas State Parks.
Eligibility: Proof of 100% status is required. For Veterans, this should be a copy of the Awards letter (dated within the last two years) from the Veterans Administration Regional Office or an Arkansas license plate with the letters DV. The discount offered to senior citizens and disabled citizens does not apply to winter rates or Rent-A-Camp options.

Learn more

Back to top

 

Miscellaneous Benefits:

Fayetteville Veterans Home: This licensed Medicaid/Medicare 108 bed skilled care nursing facility, provides a comfortable and supportive atmosphere for Veterans. Operated under the direction of the Arkansas Department of Veterans Affairs and approved and recognized by the Federal Veterans Administration as a qualified state Veterans Home. The services provided are:

  • Hospice care
  • Respite care
  • Medical Director on site
  • RN, LPN, CNA skilled care around the clock
  • Physical, occupational and speech therapy
  • Daily activities coordinated by a Certified Activities Director
  • A Licensed Clinical Social Worker
  • An Arkansas Department of Veterans Affairs Benefits Officer who assists all Veterans with VA Benefits
  • Transportation available
  • Personal laundry done at no additional charge
  • Security provided 24 hours a day

Eligibility:

  • No criminal record
  • Honorable discharge
  • Arkansas residents have first priority.
  • Veterans, Veteran's Spouses, and Gold Star parents may apply for admission.
  • Have a medical need for nursing home placement

Click here for application

Learn more

North Little Rock Veterans Home: Arkansas State Veterans Home at North Little Rock (ASVH-NLR) is the first Veterans home in Arkansas developed from the ground-up for the sole purpose of long-term care for our Veterans. SVH-NLR is a "small home" design with eight (8) individual homes that serve twelve (12) residents each. Each resident will have a private room and private bathroom. Less than 1% of long-term care facilities across the nation are built and operated as small homes. The small home concept seeks to de-institutionalize care and provide a warm, home-like environment in a setting that encourages social activity. As a result of the design, the operating model differs substantially from that of a traditional skilled nursing facility. Arkansas State Veterans Home at North Little Rock will open in Fall 2016.
Eligibility:

  • No criminal record
  • Honorable discharge
  • Have a medical need for nursing home placement.
  • Arkansas residents have first priority.
  • Veteran's Spouses and Gold Star parents may apply for admission.

Learn more 

State Veterans Cemetery: The Arkansas Department of Veterans Affairs operates two Veteran's cemeteries to commemorate the military service of our deceased Veterans. Located in North Little Rock and Birdeye. There is no cost for Veteran interment ($300 for Spouse or qualified dependent).
Eligibility:

Veterans and Members of the Armed Forces:

  • Must be discharged under conditions other than dishonorable.
  • Any member of the Armed Forces of the United States who dies on active duty.
  • Any Veteran who was discharged under conditions other than dishonorable. With certain exceptions, service beginning after Sept 7, 1980, as an enlisted person, and service after Oct 16, 1981, as an officer, must be for a minimum 24 continuous months or the full period for which the person was called to active duty.

National Guardsman or Reservist:

  • Eligible for retirement pay at age 60; or
  • Members called to active duty for 2 years or more, (does not have to be consecutive) or completed the full period for which they were called up
  • Members who die under honorable conditions or while hospitalized or undergoing treatment, at the expense of the United States, for injury or disease contracted or incurred while performing active duty for training.
  • Members who die under honorable conditions while performing full time AGR service.
  • Members who receive a Hardship Discharge while on active duty.
  • Members discharged due to a service-connected disability while on active duty.

Veteran's Dependents:

  • The Veteran's Spouse (Former Spouses whose marriage to an eligible Veteran was terminated by divorce or annulment are not eligible for burial)
  • Unmarried Child, (under the age of 21 or 23 if still enrolled in school); or
  • A verifiable life-long dependent of the Veteran.

Learn more

Back to top

 

Veterans Administration (VA) Medical Facilities

Veterans Health Administration
VA Medical Center
Fayetteville: Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks, 1100 North College Ave, 479-443-4301 / 800-691-8387
Little Rock: Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System John L. McClellan Memorial Veterans Hospital, 4300 West 7th St, 501-257-1000
North Little Rock: Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System Eugene J. Towbin Healthcare Center, 2200 Fort Roots Dr, 501-257-1000

Community Based Outpatient Clinic
Conway: Conway CBOC, 1520 East Dave Ward Dr, 501-548-0500
El Dorado: El Dorado CBOC, 514 E 5th St, 870-875-5900 / Fax: 870-875-5921
Ft Smith: Ft Smith OPC, 1500 Dodson Ave, Sparks Medical Plaza, 479-441-2600
Harrison: Harrison OPC, 707 N Main St, 870-741-3592
Helena: Helena, Arkansas CBOC, 812A Newman Dr, 870-338-6200
Hot Springs: Hot Springs CBOC, 177 Sawtooth Oak St, 501-520-6250 / Fax: 501-520-6291
Jonesboro: Jonesboro, Arkansas CBOC, 1901 Woodsprings Rd, 870-268-6962
Mena: Mena CBOC, 1706 Hwy 71 N, 479-394-4800 / Fax: 479-394-4805
Mountain Home: Mountain Home CBOC, #10 Medical Plaza, 870-424-4109 / Fax: 870-424-4309
Ozark: Ozark, Arkansas OPC, 2713 West Commercial, 479-508-1000
Paragould: Paragould CBOC, 2420 Linwood Dr, Suite 3, 870-236-9756 / Fax: 870-236-9356
Pine Bluff: Pine Bluff CBOC, 4747 Dusty Lake Dr, Suite 203, 870-541-9300 / Fax: 870-541-9342
Russellville: Russellville CBOC, 3106 West 2nd CT, 479-880-5100
Searcy: Searcy CBOC, 1120 S Main St, 501-207-4700 / Fax: 501-207-4707
Texarkana: Texarkana CBOC, 910 Realtor Ave, 870-216-2242 / 800-571-8387 / Fax: 870-779-2740

Vet Center - 877-927-8387
Fayetteville: Fayetteville Vet Center, 1416 N. College Ave, 479-582-7152 / Fax: 479-251-1823
North Little Rock: Little Rock Vet Center, 201 W. Broadway St, Suite A, 501-324-6395 / Fax: 501-324-6928

Veterans Benefits Administration
Regional Office
North Little Rock: North Little Rock Regional Office, 2200 Fort Roots Dr, Bldg 65, 800-827-1000

Intake Site
North Little Rock: Little Rock Air Force Base

National Cemetery Administration
National Cemetery
Fayetteville: Fayetteville National Cemetery, 700 Government Ave, 479-442-2566 / Fax: 479-442-3046
Fort Smith: Fort Smith National Cemetery, 522 Garland Ave and South 6th St, 479-783-5345 / Fax: 479-785-4189
Little Rock: Little Rock National Cemetery, 2523 Springer Blvd, 479-783-5345 / Fax: 479-785-4189

Learn more

Back to top

 

Military Installations in Arkansas

 

Active Duty

Army
Pine Bluff Arsenal

Air Force
Little Rock AFB

National Guard

Arkansas National Guard

Arkansas Army National Guard

Arkansas Air National Guard

National Guard Professional Education Center

United States Army Reserve (USAR)

63rd Regional Support Command 

 

RESOURCES

http://www.veterans.arkansas.gov

http://www.va.gov/directory/guide/state.asp?State=AR&dnum=ALL

http://www.retirementliving.com/taxes-alabama-iowa#ARKANSAS

http://www.fedshirevets.gov/job/vetpref/index.aspx

http://www.arkansas.gov/esd/Programs/Veterans/index.htm

http://www.dfa.arkansas.gov/offices/motorVehicle/Pages/specialtyPlatesCategory.aspx?category=Military 

http://mic3.net/pages/contact/Map/arkansas.aspx

Back to top

Document Review Date: 29 February 2016