Army Wounded Warrior Program (AW2)

Army Reserve: Retired

Benefit Fact Sheet



The Army Wounded Warrior Program (AW2) is the official U.S. Army program that assists and advocates for severely wounded, ill, and injured Soldiers, Veterans, and their Families, wherever they are located, regardless of military status. Soldiers who qualify for AW2 are assigned to the program as soon as possible after arriving at the Warrior Transition Unit (WTU). AW2 supports these Soldiers and their Families throughout their recovery and transition, even into Veteran status. This program, through the local support of AW2 Advocates, strives to foster the Soldier's independence.


Retired Army Reserve Soldiers who have been classified as Special Category (SPECAT) as a result of injuries or illness incurred in the line of duty on or after September 11, 2001 in support of an Overseas Contingency Operation are eligible for the AW2 program. Soldiers also must have been awarded an Army disability rating of 30 percent or greater in one or more specific categories or a combined rating of 50%, or greater for conditions that are the result of combat or are combat related to be classified as Severely Disabled.

Benefit Highlights:

AW2 Advocates
Each AW2 Soldier is assigned an AW2 Advocate who provides personalized local support to the Soldiers, Veterans, and their Families. AW2 Advocates are located at military treatment facilities, VA Polytrauma Centers, VA facilities, and most Army installations.

Eligibility Requirements
To qualify for AW2, a Soldier must suffer from wounds, illness, or injuries incurred in the line of duty after September 10, 2001, and receive or expect to receive at least a 30% rating from the Integrated Disability Evaluation System (IDES) for one of the conditions listed below, or receive a combined 50% IDES rating for any other combat/combat-related condition:

  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Severe traumatic brain injury (TBI)
  • Severe loss of vision/blindness
  • Severe hearing loss/deafness
  • Fatal / incurable disease with limited life expectancy
  • Loss of limb
  • Spinal cord injury
  • Permanent disfigurement
  • Severe burns
  • Severe paralysis

Soldiers and Veterans who meet the above eligibility requirements and are not currently enrolled in AW2 should contact the AW2 Call Center for assistance.

Nationwide (toll-free): (877) 393-9058
Overseas DSN: (312) 221-9113
Email: AW2 Contact Center

Wounded Warrior Lifecycle of Care
Each AW2 Soldier moves through the six-phase Lifecycle of Care. The Army uses this cycle to anticipate what the wounded warrior and his/her Family will need during each phase. AW2 provides support throughout the six phases of the Wounded Warrior Lifecycle of Care.

AW2 Soldiers also receive support from the Warrior Transition Unit (WTU) triad of care throughout the first five phases, and AW2 continues to provide necessary support as the wounded warrior transitions to Veteran status.

The phases of the Wounded Warrior Lifecycle include:

  1. Evacuation and Notification
  2. Treatment
  3. Rehabilitation
  4. Evaluation
  5. Transition
  6. Management and Support

Additional Information:

For more information, please visit the Army Wounded Warrior (AW2) webpage maintained by the Department of the Army:

AW2 Advocates Wounded Warrior support:

Wounded Warrior Lifecycle of Care:

Online Resource for Americans with Disabilities:

Document Review Date: 17 September 2013