Army Wounded Warrior Program (AW2)

Regular Army: Retired

Benefit Fact Sheet



The Army Wounded Warrior Program (AW2) is the official U.S. Army program that assists and advocates for severely wounded, ill, and injured Soldiers, Veterans, and their Families, wherever they are located, regardless of military status. Soldiers who qualify for AW2 are assigned to the program as soon as possible after arriving at the Warrior Transition Unit (WTU). AW2 supports these Soldiers and their Families throughout their recovery and transition, even into Veteran status. Through the local support of AW2 Advocates, AW2 strives to foster the Soldier's independence. There are more than 23,890 Soldiers and Veterans currently in AW2.



In order for Retired Soldiers to be considered for entry into AW2, the Soldier must have sustained wounds, illness, or injuries incurred in the line of duty (LOD) after 10 September 2001 and received or is expected to receive at least a 30% Army disability rating from the Integrate Disability Evaluation System (IDES) for one of the following conditions:

  • Blindness or severe loss of vision
  • Loss of limb
  • Hearing loss or deafness
  • Burns or permanent disfigurement
  • Paralysis/Spinal cord injury
  • Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
  • Fatal or incurable disease with limited life expectancy one year or less   OR
  • Receive a 30% IDES (Army) Disability rating for any other combat related condition, or any condition caused by an instrumentality of war (Including PTSD and other Behavioral Health conditions)   OR
  • Receive a combined 50% IDES (Army) Disability rating for any other combat related conditions caused by an instrumentality of war.

The AW2 Director has the authority to approve an exception to policy to allow a Soldier or Veteran not meeting the above criteria into the AW2 Program on a case by case basis.

AW2 Advocates must check and report any changes of their Soldiers or Veterans that affect their eligibility to remain in the AW2 Program.

Benefit Highlights:

AW2 Advocates
Each AW2 Soldier is assigned an AW2 Advocate who provides personalized local support to the Soldiers, Veterans, and their Families. AW2 Advocates are located at military treatment facilitiesVA Polytrauma Centers, VA facilities, and most Army installations.

Soldiers and Veterans who meet the above eligibility requirements and are not currently enrolled in AW2 should contact the AW2 Call Center for assistance.

Nationwide (toll-free): (877) 393-9058
Overseas DSN: (312) 221-9113
Email: AW2 Contact Center

Wounded Warrior Lifecycle of Care
Each AW2 Soldier moves through the six-phase Lifecycle of Care. The Army uses this cycle to anticipate what the wounded warrior and his/her Family will need during each phase. AW2 provides support throughout the six phases of the Wounded Warrior Lifecycle of Care.

AW2 Soldiers also receive support from the Warrior Transition Unit (WTU) triad of care throughout the first five phases, and AW2 continues to provide necessary support as the wounded warrior transitions to Veteran status.

The phases of the Wounded Warrior Lifecycle include:

  1. Evacuation and Notification
  2. Treatment
  3. Rehabilitation
  4. Evaluation
  5. Transition
  6. Management and Support

Additional Information:

For more information, please visit the Army Wounded Warrior (AW2) webpage maintained by the Department of the Army:

AW2 Advocate Support:

Wounded Warrior Lifecycle of Care:

Online Resource for Americans with Disabilities:

Document Review Date: 2 March 2017